From the Depths

You may remember that I once reviewed From The Depths, an Early Access ship-building game I’d been following since I saw the teaser trailer a couple years back. The game has gone through a number of changes, as everything from guns to missiles to AI to armor to resources to block shpes has been implemented or reworked or re-reworked. Normally I’d be happy, but I think the developers are running head first into a problem, the game feels completely unapproachable to anyone that hasn’t been playing this entire time.

Frankly, I’ve had enough. Every time I try to dive back into the game and learn the systems and make a proper ship, the amount of complexity has increased, and everything I understood from the earlier builds no longer applies, and the few designs I made with some promise no longer function, and I can see even more complications waiting in the wings to be properly implemented. The dodgy English translations for what parts do and how they need to be connected doesn’t help matters.

Still, for the sake of argument, I tried to grit my teeth and relearn the engine systems so I could make a vehicle… and made the rookie mistake of not noticing which way the game declared my vehicle was facing, so my main source of forward movement was actually considered a maneuvering piece. They did put in a way to fix that, thankfully. After a dozen iterations that made what I thought to be a decent starting ship, I took on one of the simplest enemies in the game and got blown to pieces. Mind you, this is with my still-relevant knowledge, like how cannons work, how to hide your important bits behind armor plating, and a bunch of other things a newbie might have been shown but still wouldn’t understand without some practice.

So you know what? I’m done. I hope the devs enjoy continued support from the community they’ve built up, but I wouldn’t play this game again unless you put a gun to my head and even then it’s a coin flip.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

